Video: Behind the Scenes Look at the Making of ‘Scream 2’

Markus Schulz takes us on a 26 minute journey behind the scenes of the making of his fifth artist album ‘Scream 2’. It’s the day before the final deadline to complete the album and he has lots of finishing touches to make before it is done.

Markus begins his story with this memorable quote:

“The art of creating. The aspect of entertaining. The feeling of connecting with strangers around the world. The gratification of being able to heal and the humility to provide happiness to those who seek out your work. These are the reasons why I, Markus Schulz, found myself immersed in music. An artist album encompasses all of these reasons. Creating pieces that will establish your legacy long after you’ve departed. Pieces that will touch emotions in ways interpreted by those who listen. This is the story of my fifth artist album, Scream 2. A story that began as a brainstorm just over a year ago, but has reached deadline day.”

Markus explains the rabbit hole:

“The rabbit hole, an adventure into the unknown. The point deep into the night where things get to become weird and twisted. You know, the afterhours vibe. I’m lucky during my solo set nights to have the ability to entirely direct the mood of a room. But this is something that hasn’t come naturally. In order to understand the rabbit hole, however, it is essential to understand the institution that is Stereo in Montreal. That is where I brought Destino to the world.”

Later he gets a bit deep:

“You know at the end of my career I’ll want to look back at who I was as an artist through my artist albums and if you play it safe all of the time then there is nothing there that brings back some feelings, you know.

Sometime I feel so helpless. How do you avoid hitting that brick wall? Those days where you try to give every last drop of dedication and somehow you still come up short. But that isn’t any option. That fuel inside me to be the best never dies. Even when seemingly running on empty.”

Markus Schulz’s artist album Scream 2 will be released on February 21st.
Pre-order the CD from Armada Shop
Pre-order on iTunes Scream 2 – Markus Schulz

Scream 2 Tracklist:
01. Markus Schulz – Reloaded
02. Markus Schulz – Revolution (with Venom One feat. Chris Madin)
03. Markus Schulz – Blown Away (feat. Liz Primo)
04. Markus Schulz – Remember This
05. Markus Schulz – Erase You (feat. Lady V)
06. Markus Schulz – Destino
07. Markus Schulz – Muse (feat. Adina Butar)
08. Markus Schulz – Dancing In The Key Of Life
09. Markus Schulz – Lord Knows (feat. Liz Horsman)
10. Markus Schulz – Fireworks (with Klauss Goulart feat. Paul)
11. Markus Schulz – In The Shadows
12. Markus Schulz – Make You Fall (feat. CeCe Peniston)
13. Markus Schulz – Mango
14. Markus Schulz – Mardi Gras
15. Markus Schulz – Gravity (feat. Amy Kirkpatrick)
16. Markus Schulz – Reflection
17. Markus Schulz – Towards The Sun (with Rex Mundi)

Follow Markus Schulz:
Website  | Website – GDJB | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | SoundCloud | Beatport | Spotify

About Suzanne Welker Jurgens

Suzanne Welker Jurgens has been involved in the publishing world for over 12 years. She has worked at several business technology magazines such as Business 2.0 and The Industry Standard, as well other magazine titles such as Allure, Yoga Journal and Dwell. In 2012, Suzanne decided that it was time to marry her passion of music with her extensive experience in media and jumped feet first into developing When she is not helping break the latest Schulz Army and The Scene is Dead news, you will find her at events waving the Schulz Army flag and passing out "Down the Rabbit Hole We Go!" wristbands. Suzanne is also part of the TranceFamily SF team and helps out at local trance events hosted by Sondra Productions and Phoria Events.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *